Fee & Payment Information
This section provides helpful information and links regarding fees and acceptable methods of payment for the United States District Court of Connecticut.
Notice to Customers Making Payments by Check: When you provide a check as a payment, you authorize us either to use your information from your check to make a one-time electronic fund transfer from your account or to process the payment as a check transaction.
|Admissions of Attorneys||200.00|
|Apostille (plus costs for certification & copies)||46.00|
|Appeal to U.S. District Judge from a Judgment in a Misdemeanor Conviction before a U.S. Magistrate Judge||37.00|
|Central Violations Bureau (CVB) Violation Notice||25.00|
|Certificate of Good Standing||18.00|
|Certification of Documents (per document)||11.00|
|Civil Complaint/Notice of Removal Filing Fee||400.00|
|CJA in-court rate effective 3/1/14 (per hour)||126.00|
|CJA out-of-court Rate (per hour) Effective 3/1/14 (per hour)||126.00|
|Copies of Public CM/ECF Queries (per page from public terminal)||.10|
|Court Copy Fee (per page per side)||.50|
|Duplicate Certificate of Admission||15.00|
|Foreign Judgment Registration||46.00|
|Juror Fee (per day)||40.00|
|Mileage Fee (per mile) Effective January 1, 2015||.575|
|Miscellaneous Civil Case Filing Fee||46.00|
|Name Search (each name) no fee for first name||30.00|
|Notice of Appeal||505.00|
|Notice of Cross Appeal||505.00|
|PACER fee (per page/$3.00 max per doc)||.10|
|Petition for Writ of Habeas Corpus||5.00|
|Pro Hac Vice Admissions (per attorney)||75.00|
|Retrieving Records from Federal Record Center- first box||64.00|
|Retrieving Records from Federal Record Center- each additional||39.00|
|Returned Check Fee||53.00|
|Tape Recorded Proceedings (per tape/CD)||30.00|
|Witness Fee (per day)||40.00|
The Clerk's Office for the District of Connecticut accepts the following forms of payment for the fees listed above: cash, credit card, debit cards with a Visa or Master Card logo, money order, bank check, cashier's check, personal checks (name, address, and telephone number must be clearly written on the face of the check, and law firm checks (including out of state law firms). Checks must be made payable to: Clerk, U.S. District Court. The Clerk's Office does not accept third-party checks. The Clerk's Office cannot make change for any service.
In-Person Credit & Debit Card Payments
The United States District Court for the District of Connecticut is now accepting credit cards as an acceptable method of payment for all filing fees and other miscellaneous court fees, with the exception of Criminal Debt (Restitution, Forfeiture Payments, & Special Assessments) and Criminal/Civil Bonds. The court will accept cards from American Express, Discover Card, Master Card, and Visa. Master Card and Visa debit cards, that will not require a PIN number, are also accepted. There is a minimum over the counter credit/debit card payment of $5.00.
Any person presenting a credit or debit card to the cashier must be an authorized signer on that card. These cards may be in the name of an individual or a corporation. Corporations are responsible for maintaining a listing of authorized signers. All card owners are responsible for security over issuance and use of their cards. Unsigned cards will require proper identification of the user/card holder.
Pay.gov is a secure web-based application, which allows users to submit payments online to government agencies electronically. Through the Pay.gov electronic filing fee tool in CM/ECF, credit card payments can also be made for the following filing fees only: Civil Case Filing/New Complaints, Motion for Admission Pro Hac Vice, Notices of Appeal, Notice of Removal, Petition to Quash IRS Summons, and Petition for Writ of Habeas Corpus. Please visit Case Information for more information regarding electronic case filing. Our Standing Order for the Refund of Electronic Filing Fees is located under the Rules & Orders section.